The Best Books I Read in 2015

Can you believe we are nearing the end of 2015? Honestly, I have no idea where the past twelve months went. I did go back to look at what I’ve read this year. Over forty books, almost half of which were adult literature, nonfiction, and classics!

Though I didn’t match my reading record from 2014, I expanded my horizons with the titles I chose. There were even a couple of rereads in the mix. Glad I made time to revisit good books.

Now, let’s talk favorites.

 

I read a number of excellent books this year, so choosing my faves was hard! I decided not to include rereads, because To Kill a Mockingbird and Let the Right One In have been at the top of my list since 2004 and 2009 respectively, so that’s an unfair advantage.

Even though I expanded my horizons and read more adult literature, nonfiction, and classics this year, my top picks are still 75% middle grade and young adult. Well, I guess it wouldn’t be a Turtle Writer list if that weren’t the case! Here are my top picks, with books published in 2015 marked with an asterisk (*).

 

Outstanding Books

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell*

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World by Haruki Murakami

If You Find This by Matthew Baker*

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard #1: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan*

Soulprint by Megan Miranda*

The Ecstatic by Victor LaValle

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

The Best Book I Read in 2015


More Happy than Not 
by Adam Silvera*

0 happy

It says a whole heck of a lot that this book beat out Megan Miranda  and Rick Riordan. Adam Silvera’s debut novel is a work of art. Check out my book review and my recap of the 2015 Boston Teen Author Festival where I got to meet the author, then snag a copy of your own!

Author’s Website //  Barnes and Noble // Your Local Indie Bookstore

 

 

What were your favorite books in 2015? Share your reading recommendations with me in the comments! Can’t wait to start up my Reading Log for 2016, too.

 

Happy reading!

xo P

6 thoughts on “The Best Books I Read in 2015

    1. She’s got a really fun voice! Quotable without being pretentious, I think. :-)

      Thank you so much! I’m touched to be among your roster of bloggers. My first post of 2016 will be my reply!

Leave a Reply

